Life As A Mentor: My Journey in Tech and Why I Do It

Photo by Fab Lentz on Unsplash

Life As A Mentor: My Journey in Tech and Why I Do It

Lighting your own path by lighting others'. Take up space!

Hey everyone,

I'm thrilled to announce that I've become a WTM ambassador as we begin this new month. The WTM program is an initiative by Google that supports and celebrates women in the technology industry. It provides resources, events, and opportunities for women to grow their technical skills, connect with other professionals, and promote diversity and inclusion in the tech community. The program aims to inspire and empower women to pursue careers in technology and help bridge the gender gap in the tech industry.

Introduction

Today, I want to share my journey of becoming a mentor and why I'm dedicated to this role despite my current title and responsibilities. At one point, I used to think that if I had started three years ago, I would be much further ahead now. However, I decided to change that narrative and embrace the idea of starting now. While I may not be a Senior Developer making $300k annually, I firmly believe that I am qualified to help those who are just starting and/or behind me.

Motivation

I reached out to a senior frontend Engineer for mentorship in the past, but she might have been too busy to take me on. That's when I realized that I don't want to live in a world where mentorship is scarce, so I decided to become the change I desired to see. I applied to be a mentor on ADPlist, and I wasn't fully qualified and hence got rejected. Aint no time for imposter syndrome, so I reached out to my former university lead to become a student mentor.

Action

Now, I have a team of six new mentees under my guidance. I had a meeting with them to introduce myself, and we communicate through a WhatsApp group and direct messages. My goal every Wednesday is to make sure they know they can reach out to me with any queries and keep them accountable.

Overview

Mentoring is not easy, but it is incredibly fulfilling. Some mentees dropped off :(, but I constantly welcome new ones. I particularly appreciate those who are dedicated and ask a lot of questions because it allows me to serve their needs better. Their enthusiasm keeps me motivated during tough times, and their mutual accountability drives me to put in continuous effort, both in their career growth and mine.

Conclusion

I love that my journey in tech is still a work in progress, and I hope I do not wake up one day regretting not starting three years ago.

If you've read this far, I want to encourage you to take action NOW. Whether it's becoming a mentor or mentee, starting a business or a company, creating a YouTube channel, or becoming a GDE, don't say NO to yourself. Start with what you have, and you won't regret it.

DO IT NOW.

Adios!

See you here next week.